Lehigh University
Lehigh University


LUPD marks National Police Week by honoring service

Members of the campus police force observe National Police Week. The number of campus crimes has decreased for the last four years, while more people are taking part in prevention and education programs.

In observation of National Police Week, members of the campus community gathered in mid-May to honor the service and dedication of the university’s fully accredited police force. The late morning ceremony took place on the lawn outside of Johnson Hall, which houses the LUPD offices. It was followed by a reception and tours of the facility.

John Smeaton, vice provost of Student Affairs, lauded the efforts of “the men and women who work around the clock—literally—to protect the Lehigh community.”

He also noted their professionalism, their community outreach, crime prevention and education efforts. Those efforts, Smeaton said, are bearing fruit: For the fourth consecutive year, the number of campus crimes decreased, while the number of those taking part in prevention and education programs has increased.

After asking for a moment of silence to remember law enforcement officers across the country who lost their lives in the line of duty, LUPD Chief Ed Shupp told those gathered that he is extremely proud of his officers and staff.

“In my 34 plus years at Lehigh and last 15 as your chief, I’ve seen this department continue to transform from a good police department to a truly great one,” said Shupp, who joined with Assistant Chief Stu Bedics in presenting the following awards to those who went above and beyond the call of duty during a particularly challenging year:

Officer of the Year:

13-year LUPD veteran Sgt. Christopher Houtz

Staff Member of the Year:

LUPD Coordinator Liz Miller Coleman


Officer Diano Reavis (received two commendations)
Security Guard Ed Lamontagne
Sgt. Christopher Houtz
Officer Matt Hyman (received two commendations)
Officer Mark  Schaller

Ten Year Award:

Corporal Jim Christman

Educational Achievement:

Officer Kevin O’Hay (two-time recipient)
Officer Charles R. (C.R.) Stokes (two-time recipient)
Officer Drew Devery
Officer Richard Holmes
Officer Dave Kokinda

In an addition to a Tradition of Excellence Award for every member of the department, Shupp also presented Certificates of Appreciation to Dave Ramsay, senior computing consultant in Library and Technology Services (LTS), for his work in helping the department stay current with the latest technology, and to Patrick Murphy, lead network technician in LTS, whose work has been instrumental in the department’s evolving video surveillance systems.

Story by Linda Harbrecht

Posted on Friday, May 16, 2014

share this story: