Lehigh University
Lehigh University


How Should We Celebrate Our 150th Anniversary?

By the time Founder’s Day arrives in October 2015, Lehigh will have officially launched a year-long celebration honoring an historic milestone—the university’s 150th anniversary.

Lehigh is committed to making the 2015-2016 academic year memorable and exciting. Activities will span South Mountain and extend to alumni chapters across the world.

With just more than two years to go before the anniversary begins, we’re beginning to take a close look at what those activities may be. And we think Lehigh’s faculty, staff and students may have a few ideas on how to celebrate.

The 150th Steering and Planning Committees invites the entire campus community to suggest ideas and make recommendations on our idea platform at lehigh.edu/150ideas. This is the same platform we used this spring to start a conversation about our Campus Master Plan.

This idea forum which will remain active through December 10, is organized into five topics:

1. Everyday Life at Lehigh. How can we make the most of campus-wide activities?

2. Signature Events. How can we leverage a few of our hallmark events?

3. South Mountain Stories. Looking back: What—and who—are our greatest stories?

4. Beyond Memorial Drive. How can we expand our celebration off campus?

5. Envisioning the Next 150. What does our future hold?

All ideas are welcome, and visitors are encouraged to check back frequently as new ideas are added to the mix. Visitors will need either to create an account, which takes about one minute, or to sign on through a social media account such as Facebook or LinkedIn. At the end of November, the 150th Steering and Planning Committees will consider all suggestions as they begin the next stage in the planning process.  Members of the committees are:
Steering Committee

Joe Kender*, vice president, advancement
Vince Munley*, deputy provost for academic affairs and professor of economics
Stacy Shillinger*, director of donor relations and principal gifts administration
John Smeaton, vice provost for student affairs
Fred McGrail, vice president for communications and public affairs
Rick Weisman, university marshal and professor of civil and environmental engineering
Denise Blew, associate vice president for finance
Ilhan Citak, archives and special collections librarian
Sharon Friedman, professor and director, science and environmental writing program
Pat Mann, administrative director, office of the provost
Frank Roth, university counsel
Alan Snyder, vice president for research and vice provost for graduate studies
Joe Sterrett, dean of athletics
Andrew Ward, associate dean, CBE, and Charlot and Dennis E. Singleton ’66 Chair in Corporate Governance
Leon Washington, dean of admissions and financial aid
Deborah Zajac ’97, university trustee and Lehigh University Alumni Association senior vice president
Planning Committee

Sharon Basso, dean of students
Ancy Cassano, administrative director, Zoellner Arts Center
Tom Chaves, assistant vice president for advancement services
Caroline Clifford, director of university events
Bill Griffin, associate director of athletics
Robin Hojnoski, associate professor, school psychology
Kathleen Hutnik, director of graduate student life
Mark Ironside, executive director of business services
Jeanne Kassis, coordinator, interdisciplinary programs
Ed Lotto, associate professor, English
Pat Mann, administrative director, office of the provost
Tony McHugh, Ruth H. and Sam Madrid Professor of Chemical Engineering
Ira Rubien, associate vice president, communications and public affairs
Angela Scott, director of outreach/diversity and inclusion
Kathy Trimble ’87, alumni volunteer
Bob Wolfenden, assistant vice president for alumni relations
Tom Yencho, director, online and digital marketing
Jim Young, director, administration and planning, library and technology services

*Indicates service on both committees

Posted on Monday, September 23, 2013

share this story: