Lehigh University
Lehigh University


Message from the Dean (September 2005)

Welcome to the September 2005 edition of Enginews, the monthly online newsletter of the P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science.

This issue of Enginews highlights the work of Jeff Linderoth, an assistant professor of industrial and systems engineering here at Lehigh, who recently received an Early Career Award from the U.S. Department of Energy. This prestigious award is of the same stature as the CAREER Award given by the National Science Foundation. Jeff has already made a name for himself among engineers who solve large-scale optimization problems characterized by high levels of uncertainty. He is also well-known for his efforts to develop a national computational grid that will harness the collective capacities of groups and networks of computers. "The Grid," as it is called, aims to provide average computer users with access to super-computing power.

I am also pleased to announce that Bill Haller, professor of practice in the electrical and computer engineering department, will serve as the new director for the engineering minor program. A Lehigh EE alumnus, Bill returned to Lehigh after a successful career in industry. Among his many accomplishments, he holds nine domestic and international patents. Bill is an enthusiastic supporter of the idea of the minor- introducing “engineering thinking” to non-engineering majors. The program has been a great success from its inception, with some 70 students currently enrolled. Bill succeeds Roger Nagel, who did an outstanding job in launching and nurturing the program over the past two years. Roger is moving on to a number of new exciting assignments.

Also, please join me in congratulating Joe Hartman in his appointment as chair of the ISE department. Joe joins two other new chairs in the engineering college to start out the new academic year – the appointments of both Steve Pessiki in Civil and Environmental Engineering and Fil Bartoli in Electrical and Computer Engineering were announced over the summer. Joe is a recognized scholar in his area, with an impressive list of awards and professional recognition that includes the editor-in-chief post of the journal Engineering Economist, the 2004 Young Engineer of the Year Award by the Pennsylvania Society of Professional Engineers, a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation, and the Eugene L. Grant Best Paper Award from the American Society for Engineering Education.

I am excited to have Joe, Steve, and Fil joining the college leadership. All seven department chairs are truly distinguished scholars, educators, and leaders. Their leadership will be crucial at this exciting juncture for the College, with the five-year strategic planning process underway, the College Retreat in October, and the college-wide curriculum renewal launched.

I hope you enjoy reading Enginews as much as I enjoy telling you about the exciting developments around our college. As always, feel free to click on the icons and drop a line to Kurt Pfitzer with suggestions for improvement and with ideas for stories and photos.

Best wishes,
S. David Wu

Posted on Thursday, September 01, 2005

share this story: