Lehigh University
Lehigh University


Campbell Social Science Research Prizes awarded

The 2005 Campbell Social Science Research Prizes, which honor the memory of distinguished social scientist Donald T. Campbell and recognize outstanding social science research conducted by Lehigh students, were recently announced.

Sheila Clabby ‘05, a psychology major from Red Bank, N.J., won the undergraduate award for her work analyzing attitudes toward racial discrimination and diversity. Joanna Steinman, a graduate student in sociology from Downingtown, Pa., won the graduate research award for her master’s thesis on the effectiveness of the Amish community in remaining a distinct and flourishing group.

Clabby’s honors thesis, "Lay Theories and Intergroup Attitudes: The Role of Theories Concerning Internality-Externality and Stability-Instability,” was supervised by Michael Gill, associate professor of psychology.

The research for Steinman’s master's thesis, "A Comparative Historical Analysis of the Old Order Amish of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania," was conducted under the supervision of Ziad Munson, assistant professor in the department of sociology and anthropology.

“The selections for this award were unusually difficult this year because this was certainly the strongest collection of papers we have ever received,” says Bruce Moon, professor of international relations and one of the program’s judges. “The annual competition goes back to 1996, but we have not given an award every year. This year, any of the finalists would have been worthy winners.”

Three other finalists were named in the undergraduate competition. Mary Medvide ‘05 was recognized for her paper, "Parenting Style and Vulnerability to Depression: The Role of Early Maladaptive Schemas,” which was supervised by Timothy Lomauro, professor practice in the psychology department. Two students of Judith Lasker, professor of sociology and anthropology and NEH Distinguished Professor, were also recognized:
Rebecca Sharim ‘05 for her paper, "Stigma and Primary Biliary Cirrhosis" and Sara Rubinstein ‘05 for "Sexual Violence as a Military Strategy: Armed Ethnic Conflicts and Wars of Rebellion 1980-2005."

In the graduate competition, Holly Kent, a graduate student in history, was cited for her master's thesis, "All Reform Depends Upon You: Changing Conceptions of Moral Suasion, Political Activism, and Women's Roles in American Abolitionist Women's Fiction, 1851-1860,” which was supervised by Monica Najar, assistant professor of history.

The award-winning papers, which have been published by the online Journal of Student Award Winners (JSAW), can be accessed from the Campbell Prize website. Each of the winners will receive a prize of $500.

The Donald T. Campbell Social Science Research Prizes honors the memory of the late Donald T. Campbell, who was University Professor of Social Relations, Psychology, and Education at Lehigh until he retired in 1994. Campbell, who received his A.B. and Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley, was a distinguished social scientist who held teaching positions at Northwestern University, Syracuse University, University of Chicago, and Ohio State University and lectured around the world at universities such as Oxford, Harvard, and Yale.

Campbell served as president of the American Psychological Association and was a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Throughout his career, he wrote more than 235 articles in the areas of social psychology, sociology, anthropology, education, and philosophy, and has received numerous honors, including the APA’s Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, the Kurt Lewin Memorial Award of the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues, and the William James Lectureship at Harvard University. At least 17 books have been dedicated to him by his colleagues.

--Linda Harbrecht

Posted on Tuesday, May 17, 2005

share this story: