Lehigh University
Lehigh University


Global Village brings world to Lehigh

The 7th annual Global Village begins on Monday, June 23, with an opening ceremony hosted by the College of Business and Economics’ Iacocca Institute.

"The Global Village, a worldwide embassy providing a common ground for visions of entrepreneurship, breaks down social, geopolitical, and economic barriers to shape a freer and more prosperous world by connecting future business and industry leaders," says Richard M. Durand, the Herbert Ehlers Dean of the College of Business and Economics.

Eighty-five people, only five of whom are from the U.S., are scheduled to participate in the Global Village’s dynamic, challenging, non-traditional learning program.

Lehigh faculty from across disciplines, as well as dozens of guest facilitators from other U.S. and international universities and from domestic and international industry, will provide an abundance of learning opportunities over the six weeks the program is in session.

From multi-company collaboration in the e-commerce world to bringing new products to market, the Global Village’s three different educational "tracks"--business and industry knowledge, leadership and entrepreneurial skills, and global networking--offer something for everyone with an interest in doing business internationally.

Participants range in age from 20 to 41 and represent a mix of undergraduate and graduate students and professionals.

"Part of the program involves splitting participants into teams and having them complete real-world consulting projects for clients," says Dick Brandt, director of the Iacocca Institute. "Managers nowadays have to navigate across a wide range of cultures and age. That’s real-world global business and it is a huge part of the Global Village experience."

This years’ participants come from the following countries: Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Brazil, Canada, Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Georgia, India, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, P.R. China, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States and Uzbekistan.

--Kim Plyler

Posted on Monday, June 16, 2003

share this story: