Lehigh University
Lehigh University


Student Life Awards honor contributions of stellar students

The Lehigh community came together at the end of the academic year to honor the dedication and accomplishments of many students who are positively impacting the culture of the university.

Associate Vice Provost and Dean of Students Sharon Basso presided over the Student Life Awards Ceremony, which recognizes students who distinguished themselves in and outside the classroom. This year’s event was held in Packard Auditorium, with an outdoor reception following.

“Their accomplishments serve as an inspiration to other students, providing a template for them to follow,” Basso said in her opening remarks. “While we can never thank them enough for all that they do to make Lehigh the extraordinary place that it is, we can recognize them today and assure them that their contributions will live on long after they leave.”

Said Lehigh President Alice P. Gast: “It is not so much a measure of the number of activities or the prominence of the student’s leadership activities, as it is a measure of the devotion and unselfishness displayed in service to fellow students.”

Gast presented the prestigious University Service Award to Carly Potock, a marketing major with minors in creative writing and business information systems, and Celinda Stanton, a supply chain management and political science major.

Both of the students, said Gast, “greatly enhanced the culture of Lehigh through their thoughtful engagement and have admirably demonstrated their dedication to Lehigh University and its community.”

Students receiving the UJIMA Award, which recognizes those who worked collectively toward the creation of a welcoming and inclusive campus community, were Betel Densamo and Angelica Matos. Their award was presented by MJ Bishop, associate professor of education and human services, and Lori McClaind, assistant dean of students.

The Service Above Self Award was presented by Director of Community Service Carolina Hernandez. This year’s recipients were Daniel Coviello, Josh Leight and the Women’s Basketball Team.

The Student Club/Organization of the Year Award went to the Chinese Students and Scholars Club and the Residence Hall Association. The Club Advisor of the Year went to Beth Gallant, who advises the Business Careers in Entertainment Club.

The Outstanding Educational Programming Award was given to the M.E.R.G.E. program, which connects Lehigh students to high school students from the Lincoln Leadership Academy. The popular Lehigh-Laf-A-Palooza was given the “Excellence in Entertainment Programming Award.

Near the conclusion of the ceremony, Provost Pat Farrell named the recipients of the Bosey Reiter Leadership Cup:  Katherine Glass Hardenbergh and Mario Paredes.

Both recipients, Farrell noted, exhibited the characteristics of leadership: resolution, courage, energy, fearlessness … and the “unflinching determination to succeed, no matter what obstacles and barriers have to be beaten down.”

Other Student Life Leadership Awards Celebration recipients included the following:

Contribution to Student Life Award

John Connolly
Camille Delavaux
Betel Densamo
Joshua DiDio
Matthew Ennis
Seth Fortney
Evelyn Gathura
Monique Golden
Eric Goldstein
Tiffany Kuperschmidt
Elizabeth Lucas
Estefania Perdomo-Calero
Arriel Rubinstein
James Rule
Elizabeth Sander
Stephanie Serritello
Alissa Sperling
Student Life Leadership Award

Meghan Bowen
Colin Callaghan
Nicole DeAngelis
Mark Degenhart
Claude Esposito
Katherine Glass-Hardenbergh
Elizabeth Guzzo
Megan Hanks
Dominique Hugg
Katherine Joseph
Beth Kertz
Adam Kohn
Adrienne LaFleur,
Gregory Martin
Stacey Middlebrook
Chloe Mullins
Trina Pal
Mario Paredes
Caroline Potock
Erica Prosser
Ashley Sciora
Celinda Stanton
Catherine Willard

Class of 1904 Awards
Michael Arak
Jana Basubas
Jared Blacker
Jennifer Colquhoun
Sofia Covarrubias
Kyle Davison
Angelo DiGiacinto
Matthew Ennis
Maria Fernandez
Kyle Hart
Gwendolyn Hauck
Sofia Kehyuaian Pereira
Jacqueline Kocot
Adam Kohn
Stephen Kuschman
Angelica Matos
Alexandra Neville
Elizabeth Ozery
Katherine Pierce
Bryan Posteinek
Jonathan Pribis
Sara Wing
Jingchao Wu

Graduate Student Life Leadership Award
Bora Baloglu
Shalena Heard
Wei Li

Allegiance Award
Claude Esposito
Elizabeth Guzzo
Morgan Haller
Residence Hall Association Character Award
Richard Gilbert
Gena Levengood
Justin Sirrine
Student Senate Leadership Award
Krista Belick
Adam Kohn
Hilary Lewis
Trina Pal
Exemplary Cultural Programming Award
NWC Program/Unity Week

Brian J. Lime Award

Sara Wing
Tim Davis

Vice Provost Award for Service
Josh Leight

Meghan Bowen
Katherine Glass-Hardenbergh
Andrea Lucas, Erica Prosser

Graduate Award  
Adafo Austin
Christina Godfried Sie

Highlighted awards from other university recognition ceremonies include the following:

The Emerging Greek Leader Award
Laura Belair
Josh DiDio

The Outstanding Greek Man and Women of the Year Award
Chloe Mullins
Andrew Woodward

The Multicultural Greek Council Apollo
Mario Paredes

David Hellekjaer Memorial Award
Benjamin Flizack

Undergraduate Academic Award
Shaili Desai

Graduate Academic Award
Shalena Heard
Gillian Ryan

Community Outreach
Becca Kelly
Jess Miller

Male Ally Award
Matthew Ennis

Efflorescence Award
Dominique Hugg
Gregory Martin

Ralph Albert Thomas ’76 Leadership Award
Mario Paredes

Student Organization of the Year
LU’s Finest Step Team

Lehigh University Gay and Lesbian Alumni Award for Continued Service
Enrique Hernandez Jr.

Exemplary Leadership Award
Erin D. Thorn

Model Ally Award
Benjamin Holber

Story by Linda Harbrecht

Posted on Thursday, May 05, 2011

share this story: