Lehigh University
Lehigh University


Faculty and staff excellence recognized

With the official end of the 2008-09 academic year just around the corner, Lehigh University took time to say “thank you” by honoring the recipients of the 2009 Faculty and Staff Awards at the annual Lehigh Appreciation dinner, held May 5 in Rauch Fieldhouse.

Those faculty members honored included:

Dominic Packer, psychology, who received the Robert C. and Virginia L. Williamson Award for Social Research, which recognizes the best published research in the social sciences in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Ray Midlam, finance, Gaurav Gulati, engineering, and David Kashinski, physics, recipients of the Lehigh University Teaching Assistant Award, which honors excellence demonstrated by graduate student teaching assistants.

Robert Storer, professor of industrial and systems engineering and the co-director of the IBE honors program, who received the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching, which is presented to a senior faculty member for distinguished teaching performed during the academic year. The award can be won only once in one’s career.

James Gunton, professor of physics, recipient of the Hillman Faculty Award, which recognizes excellence in teaching or research work, or for advancing the interests of the university.

Ivan Biaggio, associate professor of physics, who received the Eleanor and Joseph F. Libsch Early Career Research Award, which honors faculty members who are early in their research career and who have demonstrated the potential for high-quality research and scholarship.

Shin-Yi Chou, the Frank L. Magee Distinguished Professor in the College of Business and Economics, recipient of the Hillman Award for Graduate Advising, which recognizes excellence in the advising of graduate students.

Nandu Nayar, the Hans Baer Chair in International Finance, and Yuilang “Oliver” Yao, assistant professor of business information systems, .who both received Carl R. and Ingeborg Beidleman Research Awards, which highlight quality research and refereed scholarship in business and applied economics.

Benjamin Wright, professor and chair of religion studies, recipient of the Eleanor and Joseph F. Libsch Research Award, which honors excellence in research, scholarship, and/or artistic achievement.

David Cundall, professor of biological studies, who received the Hillman Award for Undergraduate Advising, which recognizes excellence in the advising of undergraduate students.

Ziad Munson, assistant professor of sociology, and Edward Whitley, assistant professor of English, were both recipients of the Lehigh Junior Award for Distinguished Teaching, which is presented to a member or members of the teaching staff for distinguished teaching performed during the academic year.

Miren Edurne Portela, director of the Humanities Center and an assistant professor of modern languages and literature, who received the Donald B. and Dorothy L. Stabler Award for Excellence in Teaching, which is presented to a member of the faculty who has demonstrated not only mastery of his or her field and superior ability in communicating it to others, but also an exceptional talent for encouraging students.

Parveen Gupta, professor and department chair in accounting, recipient of the Robert and Christine Staub Faculty Excellence Award in Business and Economics, which is presented to a faculty member who is perceived to have made a positive difference in the lives of students, the college community, or with fellow faculty members.

Those staff members honored included:

Susan Lantz, associate dean for academic life and student transitions, who received the Hillman Exempt Staff Award, which recognizes exempt staff members for excellence in administrative, teaching or research work, or for advancing the interests of the university.

Rebecca Eshelman, stage coordinator for Zoellner Arts Center, and Dana Stow, director of admissions information systems and technology, both recipients of Alfred Noble Robinson Awards, which recognize outstanding performance in service to the university and unusual promise of professional achievement.

Julia Maserjian, digital library project coordinator, recipient of the Louis and Helen Zirkel Library Staff Award, which recognizes outstanding performance and service by a member of the nonexempt or exempt staff in the university libraries.

Henry Odi, executive director, Academic Outreach, who received the Employee Relations Advisory Committee (ERAC) Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes outstanding service by a nonexempt or exempt staff member.

Mary Kay Baker, director of conference and special housing services, who received the Lehigh University Award for Distinguished Service, which recognizes members of the exempt staff who have contributed in significant ways to the Lehigh community over a number of years.

Stephen Guttman, director of the budget office, recipient of the Paul J. Franz Award, which recognizes a professional staff administrator who combines excellence of performance with a service of dedication and devotion to Lehigh University.

Deborah Laub, department coordinator, theatre, who received the Hillman Nonexempt Staff Award, which recognizes nonexempt staff members for excellence in performance or for advancing the interests of the university.

Vincent Callanan and Wilfredo “Fred” Colon, lead technicians in facilities services, both recipients of John W. and Barbara R. Woltjen Awards, which recognize outstanding contributions of a nonexempt staff member.

Mary Ann Dent, academic coordinator, mathematics department, who received the Perry and Carol Zirkel Award, which recognizes outstanding performance and contributions by a nonexempt staff member.

In addition to honoring the contributions of specific faculty and staff award winners, the dinner also gave the university a chance to wish a fond farewell to 16 members of the Lehigh family who have decided to retire.

The 16 Lehigh University retirees are:

• Edward Barndt (athletics)
• Arlan Benscoter (material science and engineering)
• Addison Bross (English)
• J. Alwyn Eades (material science and engineering)
• Robert Folk (physics)
• James Greenleaf (finance and law)
• Richard Herman (chemistry)
• Robert Kendi (Rauch Center for Business Communications)
• Michael Kolchin (management and associate dean for graduate studies)
• Susan Lohrman (Health Center)
• Mary Ann Mikitka (dean of students)
• Robert Sorensen (civil and environmental engineering)
• Valerie Van Billiard (LTS client services)
• Fred Wehden (LTS client services)
• Raymond Wylie (international relations)
• Ivan Zaknic (art and architecture)

--Bill Doherty

Posted on Wednesday, May 06, 2009

share this story: