Lehigh University
Lehigh University


2008 staff award winners announced

The following members of the Lehigh University staff received 2008 Staff Awards at the annual staff recognition dinner, held May 6:

Ian Birky, director of Counseling and Psychological Services, received the Hillman Exempt Staff Award, which recognizes exempt staff members for excellence in administrative, teaching or research work, or for advancing the interests of the university.

Michelle N. Issadore, assistant director of the Women’s Center, received the Alfred Noble Robinson Award, which recognizes outstanding performance in service to the university and unusual promise of professional achievement by an employee with at least one year of service to Lehigh and who is under 35 years old.

Judith E. McNally, team leader for Library and Technology Services (LTS) Library Access Services, received the Louis and Helen Zirkel Library Staff Award, which recognizes outstanding performance and service by a member of the nonexempt or exempt staff in the university libraries.

Thomas J. Meischeid, director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs as well as the interim director, Office of Technology Transfer, received the Employee Relations Advisory Committee (ERAC) Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes outstanding service by a nonexempt or exempt staff member.

Kathleen J. Miller, Lehigh’s controller, and Stephen J. Guttman, director of the Budget Office, both received the Lehigh University Award for Distinguished Service, which recognizes members of the exempt staff who have contributed in significant ways to the Lehigh community over a number of years.

Frank A. Roth, general counsel, received the Paul J. Franz Award, which recognizes a professional staff administrator who combines excellence of performance with a service of dedication and devotion to Lehigh University.

Julie Scheller, prepress and design specialist in Printing and Mailing Services, received the Hillman Nonexempt Staff Award, which recognizes nonexempt staff members for excellence in performance or for advancing the interests of the University.

Janice M. Stoudt, executive secretary in Finance and Administration, received the John W. and Barbara R. Woltjen Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions of a nonexempt staff member in the Finance and Administration area who works a 75 percent effort or more.

Donna J. Toothman, secretary in the College of Education, received the Perry and Carol Zirkel Award, which recognizes outstanding performance and contributions by a nonexempt staff member.

New for this year, two award review committees were formed to evaluate nominees and recommend winners. Each committee, made up of six members serving three-year terms, reviewed nominations and selected recipients for exempt and nonexempt staff awards. Committee members were selected from past university award recipients and staff who volunteered on the summer 2007 Staff Reward and Recognition survey.

“Those nominated and the selected recipients were people of a really high caliber of professionalism,” said Walt Conway, manager of Information Systems Audit and chair of the Exempt Staff Awards Committee. “I was really impressed with the levels of achievement that the recipients displayed. They truly reflect values of leadership, teamwork and commitment to Lehigh's educational and research mission.”

Members of the Exempt Awards Committee also included: Heidi L. Casciano, business manager, Development; Michael P. George, director of Centennial School; Deanne L. Hoenscheid, administrative manager, Center for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology; and Gisela M. Nansteel, director, International Students and Scholars.

The Nonexempt Awards Committee included Susan R. Meyers, administrative assistant, Lehigh University Alumni Association (LUAA) and chair; Leanne M. Adamcik, secretary, Emulsion Polymers Institute; Maria P. Brace, coordinator, Biological Sciences department; Robert S. Bruneio, lieutenant, Lehigh University Police Department (LUPD); Jeanne S. Monnot, administrative coordinator, Perella Department of Finance; and Janice M. Stoudt, executive secretary, Finance and Administration.

The previously established nomination and selection processes were followed for the other special awards presented at the dinner, which include the Louis and Helen Zirkel Library Staff Award, the ERAC Distinguished Service Award and the John W. and Barbara R. Woltjen Award.

--Tom Durso

Posted on Wednesday, May 07, 2008

share this story: