Lehigh University
Lehigh University


Faculty excellence recognized

Lehigh University honored the recipients of the 2007 Faculty Awards at the annual faculty dinner on April 30.

Those honored include:

Shin-Yi Chou, associate professor of economics, who received the Carl R. and Ingeborg Beidleman Research Award, which highlights quality applied research and refereed scholarship in business and applied economics.

Jeffrey Sands, professor of biological sciences, and Barbara Traister, professor of English, who received the Deming Lewis Award, which honors a faculty member selected by the 10-year class as having most significantly influenced its members’ educational experience.

Arup SenGupta, professor of civil and environmental engineering, recipient of the Hillman Award for Excellence in Graduate Advising, which recognizes excellence in the advising of graduate students.

Robert Lucas, associate professor of mechanical engineering and mechanics, who received the Hillman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising, which recognizes excellence in the advising of undergraduate students.

Michael Raposa, professor of religion studies, recipient of the Hillman Faculty Award, which recognizes excellence in teaching or research work, or for advancing the interests of the University.

Reetika Gupta, assistant professor of marketing, recipient of the Lehigh Junior Award for Distinguished Teaching, which is presented to a junior member or members of the teaching staff for distinguished teaching performed during the academic year.

Volkmar Dierolf, associate professor of physics, and Slava Rotkin, assistant professor of physics, who received the Eleanor and Joseph F. Libsch Early Career Research Award, which honors faculty members who are early in their research career and who have demonstrated the potential for high-quality research and scholarship.

Ed Shapiro, professor of education, recipient of the Eleanor and Joseph F. Libsch Research Award, which is named in honor of Lehigh’s first Vice President for Research and his wife and rewards those conducting distinguished research.

Kashi Johnson, associate professor of theatre, and Brian Pinaire, assistant professor of political science, who received the Donald B. and Dorothy L. Stabler Award for Excellence in Teaching, which is presented to a member of the faculty who has demonstrated not only mastery of his or her field and superior ability in communicating it to others, but also an exceptional talent for encouraging students.

Teresa McCarthy, assistant professor of management, who received the Robert & Christine Staub Faculty Excellence Award, which honors a faculty member in the College of Business and Economics who is perceived to have made a positive difference in the lives of students, the college community, or with fellow faculty members.

Matthew Close, biological sciences; Tsung-Yi Wang, business; and Tunc Goruney, mechanical engineering and mechanics, recipients of the Lehigh University Teaching Assistant Award, which honors excellence demonstrated by graduate student teaching assistants.

--Amy Fantasia

Posted on Wednesday, May 23, 2007

share this story: